Crossfit vs HIIT body weight

I started cross fit a few weeks ago and I am slightly obsessed. I have also been doing a lot of at home HIIT workouts.

So I thought I would do a bit of a comparison :)

If you’re thinking cross what? Check out the video in this post, it shows the kind of exercises you do. Basically, the crossfit guys post a WOD (workout of the day) that every box (gym) does that day.

Most workout are a combination of body weight exercise (pull-ups, push ups, jump boxes) and lifts (deadlifts, squats, turkish get up etc).

You either do as many reps of the prescribed exercises as you can in a limited time: ie last night’s workout: 5 pull ups, 5 triceps dips and 15 squats, as many reps as you can in 20 min.

Or you do the WOD as fast as you can: ie “Arnie”: 21 Turkish get-ups, Right arm 50 Swings, 21 Overhead squats, Left arm 50 Swings 21 Overhead squats, Right arm 50 Swings 21 Turkish get-ups, Left arm (with a kettlebell).

What I like:

  • You have to push, hard
  • It works on strength and endurance
  • You can measure your progress easily (you get faster, can use more weight etc)
  • I love lifting
  • The coach and group environment help you push hard

What I like less:

  • I like that for the first session I was taught the proper way of lifting
  • But I am worried about compromising form when doing the WOD. You can injure yourself easily when dealifting 100 lbs!
  • Emphasis on speed rather than form.
  • You need equipment you might not have at home and might struggle at a normal gym if it is busy and you have to switch from one piece of equipment to the other every minute PS: I can do both the workouts mentioned above at home, I just need to adapt hem a bit)

What is HIIT? Check out this this great infographic guide.

Basically you go all out for a couple of minutes and then rest before starting again.

You can do a HIIT workout running (my favorite) cycling or doing bodyweight exercises (I love that on too).

Great moves to incorporate for a home HIIT workout are: jumping jacks, lunges, squats, push ups, jumping rope, mountain climbers etc. You can also do it with lifts, or kettlebell moves I love her videos, she has a ton of beginner options

I also put a link to a workout I like here.

A while back I also did some Insanity DVDs, they are based on the same principle.

What I like:

  • You have to push, hard
  • It works on strength and endurance
  • I can do it at home for free
  • I love interval runs
  • It’s easy to put my own workouts together
  • It’s great for weight loss
  • The rest interval helps me push really hard because I know rest is coming

What I like less:

  • It’s sometimes hard to push myself, the coach at crossfit does a good job of kicking my ass :)
  • There is no lifting involved in most of the workouts I find online, but I can always make up my own :)

Final thoughts?

I love both. The idea is the same, you push hard for a (relatively) short period of time and rip great benefits in term of cardio and strength. So you get the best of both worlds.

If you practice other sports, both types of workout will help you by developing your whole body. I know it helps me with tennis, running, capoeira etc

Both can be adapted to your level of fitness. Though they are very taxing and will get your heart rate up quickly. So if you suffer from cardiac issues, haven’t exercised in a while etc I would advise starting with something else.. But if you need to shake things up in your workout routines, their both great options!

I am now hooked on lifting! And I’m thankful for that :)

Last night I learned a whole bunch of other big lifts. I was so proud of myself when I manage to deadlift 155 lbs!

I wrote before about my boobs getting in the way of my running. Well, they now also get in the way of my lifting!

Every time I needed to get the barbell, the kettlebell or the ball over my chest my coach commented that my chest was getting in the way. What’s a girl to do? As he said, I could have worse problem as a woman but still

Any tips? The Scotsman thought I was being silly, but it’s a real problem I swear!

Have you tried crossfit? What about HIIT workouts?

What do you like best?

18 thoughts on “Crossfit vs HIIT body weight

  1. Crossfit (and other popular workouts like Jillian Michaels, Insanity, and P90X) incorporate HIIT only they do it for multiple muscle groups at a time. So while your on the high intensity part for one muscle group, you’re on the low intensity for another, and then you switch. Crossfit is great because it is highly variable and highly (highly) effective. The problem is that you need the equipment or their gyms (“boxes”) to really get the most out of it (although it’s worth it if you have the time and money). I think the key is getting to maximal intensity and constantly changing things up. What exercises you do or how you do them is less important. Dr. G.

    • Thank you for stopping by and taking the time to clarify things.
      What I like about “more classical” HIIT workout is that rather than switching body parts I get to rest fully and catch my breath before the next round ;)
      I agree though, the key (and the source of the addiction) is the great intensity and changing things up

      • I think if it’s HIIT and you like it, it will work. I have some at home HIIT-type workouts that can be done without weights in less than 20 minutes on my site. Let me know if they work for you. Have a great weekend.

    • Not so far no. IF anything it helps me getting more “toned”. I had the same worry, but the research I did shows that women will not bulk up unless you adopt a very specific diet and supplement a lot. Plus the cardio that comes with the workouts helps you slimming down :)

  2. Crossfit! Yes! My children are SO fortunate, because their PE teacher is also a crossfit instructor. They are both taking it in stride and becoming extremely fit. :)
    I’ve been incorporating some crossfit back into my routine, slowly. Good for you in trying these new things.

What do you think?

